ULEZ 2021 Checker: Is your car exempt from the London Ultra Low Emission Zone?


Will I be charged for driving in ULEZ? London’s Ultra Low Emission Zone will be expanded on October 25, meaning cars with higher emissions are subject to charges in more parts of the capital.

The ULEZ device operates 24/7 all year round except Christmas Day

Driving in London can be a bit of a nightmare – and new pollution rules under the Ultra-Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) may have made it a lot more expensive.

Many will now have to check whether their car is ULEZ exempt.

The zone was introduced in April 2019 to help clean up pollution in the center of the city where polluting traffic is currently a big problem.

At the moment, ULEZ only stretches around central London and includes sections of the City of London and the City of Westminster, as well as parts of Islington, Southwark and Lambeth, but it is expected to expand. expand and move more from October 25.

Older vehicles are much less efficient than newer models and a fee of £ 12.50 has therefore been charged to deter certain vehicles from entering the area.

The program operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week, year round, except Christmas Day.

Anyone needing to pay can do so via the TfL website, by phone or on the TFL app.

There is also an automatic payment service, which requires vehicle registration.

Where does the ULEZ zone extend?

ULEZ extends much further into Greater London



Although it started out small, ULEZ extends much further into Greater London.

The new area will extend to the areas between the north and south circular roads.

The fee will therefore now include driving in one or other of the following parts of the boroughs:

  • Hamlets of the Tower
  • Newham
  • Pont-Rouge
  • Greenwich
  • Lewisham
  • Southwark
  • Wandsworth
  • Lambeth
  • Hounslow
  • Ealing
  • Barnet
  • Camden
  • Islington
  • Hackney
  • Haringey
  • Waltham Forest
  • Brent
  • Hammersmith & Fulham
  • Kensington and Chelsea
  • City of London
  • City of Westminster

The resident discount scheme is also being phased out, so those living in the area whose vehicle does not meet the required emissions standards will now have to pay the full £ 12.50.

Does my vehicle count?

The area has expanded to cover more parts of the capital. For gasoline-powered cars, all those registered with the DVLA after 2005 tend to meet the required standards.


AFP / Getty Images)

For gasoline-powered cars, all cars registered with the DVLA after 2005 tend to meet the required standards, but this should be checked if you are unsure. Your petrol cars and vans must meet the “Euro 4” standard, which produces 1g of carbon monoxide per kilometer.

Both diesel cars and vans must meet the Euro 6 standard, registered after 2015.

Electric cars are exempt.

Motorcycles must have a Euro 3 engine to avoid charging.

Trucks, buses and coaches, as well as any other heavy vehicle, must meet Euro 6 standards

Retrofitting your vehicle to meet standards is permitted, but must be certified by the Clean vehicle modernization accreditation program (CVRAS).

Vehicles built before 1973 are exempt from charges.

You must check if your vehicle is suitable before driving in the ULEZ zone. To try TfL’s online vehicle checker.

Read more

Read more


Virginia C. Taylor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.